Our Alumni

The residency program at the Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute began as a volunteer-led program in 1947, making it one of the oldest ophthalmology training programs in the South. Over the last 70+ years, the residency program has grown into an ACGME accredited, three-year, comprehensive clinical and surgical program guided by dedicated comprehensive and subspecialist ophthalmology faculty members.

The department has graduated 166 residents as of 2020, and admits four residents per year. Once you have completed your training and graduated from our program, we hope that you will stay connected with us. If you have news items, job postings, or program suggestions, please contact our Residency Program Coordinator.


CME Activities

The Jones Eye Institute holds a continuing medical education meeting each year in June to coincide with the completion of the training program by the graduating class of residents.  At each annual meeting, there are several resident awards given out to include: Resident of the Year Award, Academic Achievement Award, the Raymond and Mary Morris Award and Faculty of the Year Award.

You are welcome to attend our CME conferences.